Bloody Birthday

The basement is dark, save for the blue light of a TV. A boy cowers in the corner of the couch, helpless and terrified by the sights before him. Screams of agony pierce the dark room. The boy was alone, scared, and up WAY past his bed time. This is how the story starts anyway. I was that boy in the basement, staring endlessly in terror, and excitement at my very first horror movie.

The movie was Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds. I was nine or ten, the time and place wasn’t important. It was the movie, the message, the vision of true fear that really mattered. Ever since then I have lived a single minded life obsessed with chasing the true terror I felt those many years ago. That is my journey, to find the perfect horror movie.

I plunged headfirst into the black abyss of splatter cinema. And in this blog, I will chronicle my journey, one blood-stained, gore-splattered, screaming epiphany at a time. And you my readers, whomever you are, might catch the bug and join me in the search for the perfect scream on the silver screen. From Tod Browning to Eli Roth and everything in between, this is a horror fan’s journal. This is a horror fan’s journey. And all of you are welcome to come along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

